Loenersloot Castle

Loenersloot

Contact

Address:
Rijksstraatweg 211
3634 AL Loenersloot
Plan your route

Take a look

Loenersloot Castle (1250) opened to the public in 2013 after it was restored. The castle was converted to a summer residence at the end of 18th century. Much from that era was preserved in addition to the specific features of an old castle. The last resident was the baroness. She lived there for almost 50 years.

Up until the end of the 20th century, Loenersloot Castle, which is located near the villa…

Read more

Loenersloot Castle (1250) opened to the public in 2013 after it was restored. The castle was converted to a summer residence at the end of 18th century. Much from that era was preserved in addition to the specific features of an old castle. The last resident was the baroness. She lived there for almost 50 years.

Up until the end of the 20th century, Loenersloot Castle, which is located near the village of the same name, was a private residence for more than 750 years. Now you can visit it during a tour! The keep, built on the banks of the river Angstel by a bishop's vassal around 1200, is the proud heart of the beautiful, hidden castle. It was once home to the robber knight Splinter van Loenersloot. Numerous additions were made to the castle and it was adapted multiple times and accommodated many residents, such as the Amstels van Mijnden and the Nijenrode family. Many other families owned the castle but stayed elsewhere.

Every day, hundreds of motorists pass the castle as they drive on the A2 motorway near Vinkeveen. Passengers on the train travelling between Utrecht and Amsterdam can see the castle, too.

Nature conservation organisation Het Utrechts Landschap has managed the castle since 2011. It underwent major renovations in 2012 and 2013. The castle has been largely accessible to the public from May 2013 onwards. Many rooms convey the atmosphere of the 18th century, the era of the last major renovation between 1773 and 1776, when the castle was transformed into a summer residence by Andries Jan Strick van Linschoten. As a result of a marriage, the castle later came into the possession of the Martini Buys family, which also used it as a summer residence for many years.

Looking at the fully furnished rooms, sometimes it seems as if the last inhabitant Baroness Madzy Martini Buys, who took up residence in 1948 and lived there for nearly 50 years, has simply stepped out for a moment. Visitors feel like they are in an 18th century country estate in which all of the features associated with a medieval castle have been preserved: moat, ancient tower, Roman bricks, driveway, and more. The unique 18th century painted wall coverings in the sun room and dining room are a must-see, too! In those days, the sun room was used to host concerts, and the tradition is still upheld today.

Visitors get to see a lot and the tour includes everything from the cellars to the top of the tower, which offers a splendid and panoramic view of the surrounding area all the way to Utrecht, and many beautiful rooms in between. Including the stunning bel étage or principal floor and the huge attic.

Next to the castle is the intimate, private ‘Van Laar Park’, which belongs to the castle. The outside world is largely out of sight; for example, there are no views of the church towers. The waterways and footpaths are very winding, which creates a maximum effect in a small area. The park also features a number of artificial hills and lovely bridges. Four group shelters date back to the mobilisation period; sometimes bats make their home in them. There is also a secluded cottage. It is an utterly delightful country estate park, and guided tours are also available.

Read less

Opening times

  • Guided tours are offered April through October on Friday and Saturday at 11:30am and 1:30pm. Duration: approximately 1.5 hours. Cost: €8.50 per person. Please make a reservation in advance. Park: open to the public. (Free) tours offered on Saturday every month. Use the website to make a reservation.

Nearby

Show results